The Barefoot Contessa’s Easy Homemade Bread Recipe!

I’ve always wanted to make my own bread in my very own kitchen. However, I knew that I didn’t have the right oven or bread machine. I researched online… and soon found that I could not even dream of affording the instruments needed to make bread. I felt a little defeated.

I soon found myself with a cookbook from the Barefoot Contessa. I borrowed it from the local library, in hopes I would find some fun, exciting recipes to try.

Needless to say, I found a bread recipe! I didn’t need a special oven or tools – I was so stoked!

I’ve made this recipe couple of times. I love it, and wanted to share it with you all. Have fun making bread!

 

Ingredients:

½ C warm water (110 degrees)

2 packages of dry yeast

1 tsp sugar

1 ½ C warm milk (110 degrees)

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 ½ tablespoons honey

2 large egg yolks

5-6 C all purpose flour

1 tablespoon salt

1 egg white, lightly beaten

  1. Place the water in a bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook. If the bowl is cold, be sure the water doesn’t drop below 110 degrees. Add the yeast and sugar, stir and then allow 5 minutes for it to dissolve. (I didn’t have an electric mixer, so I vigorously stirred! I’m sure you could do the same if you don’t have one.)
  2. Add the milk, butter, and honey. Mix on medium speed until blended.
  3. Add the egg yolks, 3 coups of flour, and salt. Mix on low speed for approximately 5 minutes.
  4. With the mixer on low, add another 2 cups of flour. Raise the speed to medium and slowly add just enough of the remaining flour so the dough doesn’t stick to the bowl. Caution: add it slowly! You can always add more, but you cannot take it out.
  5. Knead on medium speed for about 8 minutes, adding flour as needed.
  6. Dump the dough out onto a floured surface and knead by hand for a minute, or until the dough is smooth and elastic.
  7. Grease a bowl with butter, put the dough in the bowl and then turn it over so the top is lightly buttered.
  8. Cover the bowl with a damp cloth (I used a damp paper towel); allow it to rise for an hour. It should double in size.
  9. Grease two 9-inch loaf pans with butter. Divide the dough in half, forming loaves out of them, and place them in the pans. Cover each again with a damp cloth (or paper towel). Let them rise again for another hour, in which they should double in size again.
  10. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. When the dough is ready, brush the tops of the loaves with the egg white and bake the loaves for 40-45 minutes or until they sound hollow when tapped.
  11. Turn them out of pans when finished and cool completely on a wire rack before slicing.
  12. Enjoy!!!

Here are a couple things to be aware of: (1) when the loaves come out, they are going to smell strongly of the yeast (or wheat beer), that’s normal; (2) store in an air-tight container! I didn’t have one for my loaves, so my bread went stale within a few days.

Some things to try: (1) when the bread comes out and cools off a bit, cut a thick slice, and lay some butter on it, eat, and enjoy; (2) you can also make dinner rolls by divided a loaf into smaller ‘loaves’ – I did this my second time around and baked them in a cupcake/muffin pan, which worked great.

Have fun guys!

One comment

  1. […] The Barefoot Contessa’s Easy Homemade Bread Recipe! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

